A view of my world in Central Illinois and places we go.

A Photo-Safari Return to Champaign

Rural free delivery

Rural free delivery

After visiting the Emiquon for the sunrise, I took a leisurely drive on a winding trip through the countryside on my return home. As the afternoon progressed, the light kept improving and it was fun to stop along the road wherever I might be, jump out, snap a few pics, and move on. It made for a very long day, but I felt photographically “juiced.” I came upon an small cemetery north of Lewistown with many markers from the mid-1800’s. Lewistown’s county courthouse is grand – I’ve featured it previously. Illinois is deservedly regarded as a flat state (see my Red Barn photo), but there are many areas that have a very rolling topography. It was a fine afternoon to capture some of it.

5 responses

  1. Sara Olson

    These are fantastic! What a charmed day. Some of your best. 🙂

    Like

    October 22, 2013 at 7:54 PM

    • Thanks, Sara! Am currently in Santa Fe, NM and hope to post some pics from here. Would you believe it, though, that it is raining today?

      Like

      October 25, 2013 at 9:06 AM

  2. Diane Lamb

    Very nice, Al. Illinois does have charm and I think your photos and words express it nicely.

    Like

    October 24, 2013 at 6:23 AM

  3. Once again, you capture the natural beauty of the Midwest, Al!! Love these and love living here!

    Like

    October 24, 2013 at 9:37 AM

  4. Thanks, everyone! I really like to see your comments and know that people are looking at my pics AND enjoying them!

    Like

    October 25, 2013 at 9:07 AM

Leave a Reply

