A view of my world in Central Illinois and places we go.

Having Fun with More “Polarized” Images

A couple of posts ago, I tried an unusual technique to modify some images based on a post by Jeff Jensen. He actually commented and gave me a couple of tips. And here are the results. The first is a redo of the previous image from Jamaica elevator. Others include various rural scenes, a tree, and a couple of skyscrapers (including Chicago’s Cloud Gate, The Bean, see if you can recognize it).

jamaica 2 polar chicago skyscrapers polarized skyscrapers with bean polarized IMG_1948 polar tree big barn polarized farm silo polarized grain bins polarized 1

3 responses

  1. Ah, I love them! The skyscrapers worked really well. The distortion is pretty trippy! Your re-work on your original turned out really nice! The clouds filling in the corners works really well. Was it from the crop, or did you fill them in? I have to say, I think the 4th image, the one of the two trees is my favorite. Really cool abstract feel to it. Nice work!

    By the way, I love Cloud Gate. One of my favorite places to shoot.

    Like

    May 5, 2013 at 10:48 PM

  2. Jeff, It was just a crop, not fill. Thanks for your interest. By the way, I love some of your time lapse work and want to look into this deeper.

    Like

    May 7, 2013 at 7:25 AM

    • I figured that was the case on the crop. reducing the size of the foreground would exaggerate the space available in the sky. Very cool! Let me know if you have any time lapse questions. i’m by no means an expert, but I’ve fiddled enough with it that I have a pretty good handle on it.

      Jeff

      Like

      May 7, 2013 at 9:45 AM

Leave a Reply

