A view of my world in Central Illinois and places we go.

Chicago Lakeshore Walking Tour

Kathy and I visited the big city last weekend. As it seems with our travels lately, she has work to do; I tag along and spend an open day wandering around wherever we happen to be taking photos. I love the Lake Michigan shoreline and, no doubt, the Chicago lakefront is spectacular. It was a clear day with bright blue skies and just enough clouds to make an interesting sky (you know I like clouds). Starting at “The Bean” (Cloud Gate, Millenium Park), I headed across Grant Park and Lakeshore Drive and then south past Adler Planetarium onto Northerly Island and then returned past the Art Institute and eventually back to the Palmer House. Crisp, though, with a wind out of the northwest making the walk back north very brisk. Glad to have gloves and ear muffs. And, because it was cold, it meant not many people out there with me. I like to be out there knowing that there are virtually millions of people within a few miles of where I am standing, yet I have this particular space all to myself. So, follow along on my photo tour. Click on an image and scroll through. Then, at the end, are several panoramic photos of the Bean and lakefront skyline.

Panorama2

Panorama5

Panorama6

Panorama7

Leave a Reply

