A view of my world in Central Illinois and places we go.

Photo of the Day

Caught this little fellow while he was attracted to the flowering “turtleheads” off our patio yesterday morning. They are really fun to watch, but sooo difficult to photograph. So very quick and timid; any movement on my part will potentially spook them. Early morning means low light and with my 75-300 mm f5.6 telephoto, it means a high ISO to keep the shutter speed high enough to stop their motion. Then you get quite a bit of noise in the image. [I’m using Topaz DeNoise in Photoshop Elements to reduce the noise, and it’s OK, but a crisper picture would help.]

By the way, this image is an enlarged crop, see below for original image. You can also see, I bumped the temperature a bit (maybe too much?), so it has a yellower appearance than the original. I might go back and redo this…hmmm.

The low light and fast action makes it hard to focus accurately (a greater DOF would help but then shutter speed suffers). Anyway, I am pretty happy with this capture of a difficult subject (I’ll keep trying to improve on this!!)

One response

  1. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites
    I stumbleupon every day. It’s always interesting to read through content from other writers and practice a little something from their sites.

    Like

    June 21, 2013 at 7:56 PM

Leave a Reply

