A view of my world in Central Illinois and places we go.

Tulips!

OK, I promised to post more photos from Brookfield Zoo. But with this warm spring we’re having, the tulips have bloomed and I felt the need to post some more flower photos. A local woman plants thousands of bulbs every fall and when spring comes around, well, kapow(!), it’s hard to go by her place and not stop. The panoramic at the top of the page gives some idea of the magnificence of her yard. However, her lot is on a corner and there is much more than can be shown with just one photo. I chose to focus more on individual flowers or small groups of flowers. So, without further ado, tulips, tulips, and more tulips…

I should also mention she has this wonderful statue of a Chinese soldier (I believe shipped from China).

This is basically the same image as above, only I have changed the focus to the red tulip in the foreground (and kept a shallow depth of field, DOF).

Here, I love how the sun is shining through the petals (I believe this is called forelighting, as opposed to backlighting). The colors really pop in these.

For this image I purposefully tried to keep the shutter open so that the wind moving the flowers would provide a blur of color (tripod required, of course).

A single tulip surrounded by bluebells.

Smaller aperture provides greater depth of field…

These are obviously not tulips, but are remarkable nonetheless. Remind me of lilies of the valley, only the flowers themselves are much larger and have that tinge of green. Beautiful. Don’t be surprised to see more images of flowers before you see more from the zoo.

4 responses

  1. These are absolutely beautiful! I love tulips, they are delicate and colorful, and just all around wonderful.

    Like

    April 11, 2012 at 11:10 AM

  2. miniare

    Beautiful!! I love her garden! Her gardener actually looks like Claude Monet. 🙂

    Like

    April 11, 2012 at 11:26 AM

    • Yes, wouldn’t it be nice to actually HAVE a gardener? I mean I love planting things as much as the next person, but it would be great to have assistance for something like this (and be able to afford it!).

      Like

      April 11, 2012 at 11:59 AM

Leave a Reply

