A view of my world in Central Illinois and places we go.

African Lions at the Brookfield Zoo

So, in a previous post I promised to add more photos from my visit to Chicago Zoological Society’s Brookfield Zoo (est. 1934). This evening I am posting several more images, this time of the resident African lion pair. Isis (f) and Zenda (m) arrived at the zoo in 2008; Isis is about 7-8 years old now and Zenda is about 6-7 years old.

All photos with a Canon EOS 7D with 75-300mm, hand-held at 300mm.

Isis and Zenda

EXIF: 1/500 s, f/7.10, ISO 800

Zenda

EXIF: 1/4000 s, f/7.10, ISO 250

Isis

EXIF: 1/400 s, f/7.10, ISO 200

EXIF: 1/400 s, f/5.60, ISO 125

EXIF: 1/400s, f/5.60, ISO 400

EXIF: 1/400s, f/5.60, ISO 800

I’ll end today’s post with this one. I’m sure all you gals out there will say this is a typical male pose. No doubt, Zenda pretty much feels he is the king of this domain. Not sure if Isis agrees.

EXIF: 1/500s, f/7.10, ISO 125

 What shall I post next? Lots of giraffes, wild dogs, wolves, and bald eagles to come. And, I have a lot more images of spring in central Illinois. I’ll be back soon.

Leave a Reply

