A view of my world in Central Illinois and places we go.

To Cooper

If you come across this blog at some time, you may see the dedication on the upper right. A dedication to Cooper. If you don’t know us, you wouldn’t know who Cooper was. If you have known us for any length of time, you know and don’t need to ask. And, now after nearly a year since he passed, I can finally start to express my feelings about Cooper – at least in images, maybe not so eloquently in words. I’ll let these do the talking for me…no need to say he was a fine-looking fellow. This blog-post may change over time as I edit it with additional photos and text. I’d like to put the images in chronological order, or at least add dates to them where I can.

First winter (2000) - Japan House in the background.

Charging the photographer.

He could be feisty, as Kathy will attest to his early years – never mean, just independent. As you can see here from our Millennium New Year’s Party, he was not real happy about being picked up.

Millenium celebration at 909 front porch.

It is hard for me now to distinguish those years of Cooper that were pre-Henry…as Henry has become so much a part of our lives and appears in so many photos with Cooper. Looking back, Henry probably has as much reason, if not more, to miss Cooper than we do. Here’s one on the back porch at the old place and I can see we have already remodeled the kitchen and added the cupola over the deck (which would make it ~2005), so Henry must have been around somewhere.

Back porch at 909 (2005/06).

Cooper taking it easy on the bench at 909 (Spring 2005).

Sugar plum faeries, Kathy and Cooper curled up on my pillow as usual (around Christmas 2002).

Kathy with Henry and Cooper beneath the Sunsinger at Allerton Park (April 2005).

Allerton Park near The Last Centaur sculpture (April 2005).

Cooper and Henry in 2003 (professional photo, not mine).

Out at Parkland Community College (October 2005).

Nearly every summer we went to Michigan, either to Pentwater or to Grand Haven, always along Lake Michigan and the beach.

Near Grand Haven, waiting to get in the truck.

Windy day on the beach at Pentwater.

Enjoying a dip in a calm Lake Michigan.

Sun setting on an impatient Cooper, looking out the front porch, Pentwater.

Mixing it up with Henry on the beach (the tennis ball is no longer an issue).

The "dog monks" after a hard day playing, at Eleanor's cottage (photo by Jan).

Setting sun on the beach, "golden hour".

Smiling with Kathy on the beach, his last trip to Pentwater (2010).

My family portrait.

I still remember Cooper looking out over the water, late this one afternoon. I can’t help but wonder if he knew something was up – like he was trying to tell us something in the only way he could. There was no bird or boat to catch his attention, and maybe he was simply taking it all in knowing he would not get back.

Lakeward gaze (2010).

The Cooper sphinx (2010)!

I recall this next pic, because this was the summer my knee was in bad shape and prior to surgery we went to Pentwater (August 2005). I hobbled down to the beach at the Oceana clubhouse (no stairs there) and started up the beach while Kathy came to meet me with Henry and Cooper. It was windy and their fur is windswept, but they saw me and were heading my way without delay.

Not sure who's walking whom...(2005).

More to come!!

2 responses

  1. Al and Kathy – I so enjoyed these photos of your beloved Cooper. He was a beautiful boy, through and through and there is such joy and happiness (human and canine!) in all of these photographs! Pictures like these help our dogs to live on in our hearts and allow us to share the joy that they brought to this world with others. Thank you for sharing Cooper on your blog, and I hope that all of your wonderful memories of his life with you can eventually bring you much comfort.

    Like

    February 6, 2012 at 8:14 AM

  2. Beautiful photos. Cooper was obviously both very handsome and very special. I’m sorry to hear of your loss. I had my own very special pup that I lost a few years ago and reading this brought both a smile and a tear to me. What a beautiful way to remember him.

    Like

    February 17, 2012 at 9:54 AM

Leave a Reply

