A view of my world in Central Illinois and places we go.

Dogs (and People) on Vacation

It has been a tremendously long time since I posted anything here and I am feeling quite guilty about it. After all, what is the sense in doing this if you don’t post anything? Now, it has been so long and I have so much material I don’t know where to start! I thought I would start with something personal and humorous. It involves Kathy and me and the “boys” (Cooper and Henry) and our best-buds Laura & Gale and their two “girls” (Bonnie and Morgan).


We all spent a wild and woolly weekend in Pentwater, Michigan along Lake Michigan in a cottage my family spent many summer days when we were all much younger. I say wild and woolly because the weather on September 3 was as windy as I have ever seen it on the Lake. Small craft had no business being on the water and I would bet that many large craft stayed in that day as well. Actually, that is not the point of this post and I will take time at a later date to expand on the weather that weekend.


My purpose today was to talk about taking photos with animals in them. And, especially, animals and people together. And further, animals and people using a tripod and timer so yours truly gets in the photo as well! The idea was to get everyone in a photo together on the beach before the weekend ended. No problem, right? Yeah, try to get four dogs and four people all looking at the camera on cue.


Here’s our first try:

Get the picture? Pure mayhem!! Everyone was pretty well set until I ran out from behind the camera to get in position. But, when I tried to get there, Cooper and Henry jumped up to follow me. And, the wind was blowing so my cap started to come off (hence the hand to my head). We all looked up to smile for the camera, pausing only to wonder if the camera had already fired (it had). So, OK, let’s try that again. Everyone hold still…

Hey, not too bad! We, the people anyway, are looking at the camera and we even have a bit of a low-to-high people profile. Let’s try one more for good measure.

That’s about the best I could hope for without having someone with their finger on the camera trigger. I have many more good photos of us (of course, I’m not in them). Here are a couple of my favs.










There are many, many more. I will keep you “posted.”

2 responses

  1. Jan

    Al, I love these photos. The dogs probably enjoyed the trip most of all.

    Like

    October 5, 2010 at 9:22 AM

  2. As we like to say, these vacations are for the dogs (as much as for us). I am pretty sure Cooper expects to go up to Michigan every time he gets in the car.

    Like

    October 5, 2010 at 5:15 PM

Leave a Reply

